Facebook Icon-01 Contact Us-01 Photo Gallery-01 twitter-01 AAMA WSMA logo for web lg-01

Awards & Scholarships

Professional Achievement Award (PAA)

The Professional Achievement Award was developed to recognize the professional growth of Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistant members. The advancement of the Medical Assistant profession depends not only on our competency as practicing medical assistants, but also upon dedicated and resourceful leaders. This award is designed to recognize the achievements of the medical assistants in both areas. The award is designed for the Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants. Any member of WSMA who wishes to do so may apply for the award. Eligibility requirements are listed on the application form. The Professional Achievement Award for 2018 goes to Gail Luttenberger, CMA (AAMA) from the Fond du Lac Chapter.

forms icon-01

WSMA Scholarship Fund

The Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants is honored to award two $500 scholarships to students who are interested in medical assisting as a health care profession.  If you are a student enrolled in a CAAHEP or ABHES accredited Medical Assisting Program you may qualify.   To ensure your are enrolled in a school with proper accreditation click on this link:  Accredited Programs in Wisconsin




forms icon-01

Medical Assistant of the Year Award

The Medical Assistant of the Year Award is a way to show appreciation for members who have given so much of their time, talent, and dedication to make our organization what it is today.  The Medical Assistant of the Year Award helps us to share their accomplishments and give the Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants an opportunity to recognize those individuals and to show our gratitude.














The final selection will be made by the Awards Committee.  Announcement of the Medical Assistant of the Year Award will be made at the annual conference at the award/installation function.  


Nominations must be received by February 1, 2019


forms icon-01

The nominee must meet the following criteria:


1.Be a member in good standing.

2.Have been a member of AAMA for at least three years.

3.Served as an officer and/or committee chairman at the chapter, state, or national level.

4.Made some specific, outstanding contribution to the field of medical assisting over and above the usual duties associated with being an officer or committee chairman, i.e. initiated some new procedure, recruited a number of new members, settled a controversy amicably, successfully established a new chapter, etc.

5.Been an asset to their local community by active participation in community activities.

6.A nominee, who has been a recipient of the award, shall not be eligible to be nominated until after a lapse of 10 years.

7.Nominations for the Medical Assistant of the Year Award are to be resubmitted on a yearly basis to provide updated information and to allow for screening of their current status of activities within the organization.


Past "Medical Assistants of the Year" Winners

1993 Nancy Kohls, CMA (AAMA) Valley

1994 Denise Dorsey-LaCanne, CMA (AAMA) Valley

1995 Julie Flaatten, RN, CMA (AAMA), NREMT-B Central Wisconsin

1996 Cynthia Ruebl, CMA (AAMA) Waukesha

1997 Mary Holtzhausen, CMA (AAMA) Central Wisconsin

1998 M. Sheryl Tschudy Green

1999 Tracy Benson, CMA (AAMA) Valley

2000 Patricia Hurlbut, CMA (AAMA), MSEd, MT Waukesha

2002 Carol Wells Green

2004 Bonnie Ruscher, CMA (AAMA) Valley

2005 Kim Gropp, CMA (AAMA) Valley

2006 Joanne Steffens, CMA (AAMA) Valley

2007 Julie Flaatten, RN, CMA (AAMA), NREMT-B Central Wisconsin

2008 Donna Schultz, CMA-A (AAMA) Valley

2009 Judy Newland, CMA (AAMA) Valley

2010 Jean Zachariasen, CMA (AAMA) Greater Milwaukee

2011 Lori McBride, CMA (AAMA) Waukesha

2012 Kathy Anderson, CMA (AAMA), CCRC Greater Milwaukee

2013 Tandra Bauman, CMA (AAMA) RMA La Crosse

2015 Maribeth Blankenheim, M.Ed., BSN, RN, CMA (AAMA) Waukesha

2016 Don Miller, CMA (AAMA) Waukesha

2017 Tamara Braund, CMA (AAMA) Centeral Wisconsin