Awards & Scholarships

Award Winners

Medical Assistant Of the Year: Rene Puetz CMA(AAMA) Lakeshore Chapter

The Medical Assistant of the year is a way to show appreciation for members who have given so much of their time, talent, and dedication to make our organization what it is today. The Medical Assistant helps us to share their accomplishments and give the Medical Assistants an opportunity to recognize those individuals and to show our gratitude.  Rene Puetz is a dedicated Medical Assistant and plays a huge part of the Lakeshore Chapter and the WSMA. “I love taking care of people and this is what the Lord had planned for me. All of the other customer service Jobs I have had in the past prepared me for this Career.”

Rene has been married to her high school sweetheart for 38 years. They have two children, four grandchildren and two spoiled cats. Rene is a dedicated bookworm and has over 600 books on her kindle. Along with reading, Rene loves organizing, cleaning, and cooking. 


Professional Achievement Award: Michelle Olson CMA(AAMA) Lakeshore Chapter

Memorial Scholarship

Two (2) $500 Scholarships for Students

The Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants (WSMA) is happy to announce the offering of the WSMA Memorial Scholarship. It is available to students enrolled in a CAAHEP or ABHES accredited medical assisting program and who are currently attending the core medical assistant courses. We will be offering two $500.00 scholarships on an annual basis. 

We are offering the WSMA Memorial Scholarship to students who satisfy all of the following:

  1. Wisconsin resident.

  2. Enrollment in a CAAHEP or ABHES accredited medical assisting program attending the core medical assistant courses.

  3. Documentation of GPA of at least 3.0 at the time of application.


The deadline for the WSMA Memorial Scholarship is February 1, 2020. Notification of the scholarship award will be made to recipient and their Program Director. The scholarship will be presented at the WSMA Annual Conference Awards Luncheon. The conference will be held from April 17th to April 18th, 2020 in Neenah, Wisconsin with the luncheon being held on Saturday, April 18th at 11:30AM.


Attn: Educational Directors- Please feel free to download our letter to educational program directors and distribute the Memorial Scholarship Program details to qualified students. 

Medical Assistant of the Year Nomination

MA of the year Nomination Form 661

Nominate a Medical Assistant of the Year

Use the form below to nominate and recognize an outstanding medical assistant. Your submission will be sent to the awards committee for review. (You may also download the PDF and mail it in as well.) 



We are the state level affiliate of the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA), the National organization that oversees the profession of Medical Assisting.


We serve as an information source and networking group dedicated to the occupation of Medical Assisting.


© 2019 Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants. All Rights Reserved.

Site Design & Maintenance: Spin Nest Marketing, Inc.