We are the state level affiliate of the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA), the National organization that oversees the profession of Medical Assisting.


We serve as an information source and networking group dedicated to the occupation of Medical Assisting.


© 2019 Wisconsin Society of Medical Assistants. All Rights Reserved.

Site Design & Maintenance: Spin Nest Marketing, Inc.

Valley Chapter

BOUNDARIES (Oconto, Outagamie, Brown, Winnebago, and Waupaca)

Last Updated: 8/2019


Events & Information



Welcome to the Valley Chapter of Medical Assistants Host of the WSMA 65th Annual Conference We off two type of educational opportunities with speakers providing AAMA approved CEUs Our “Morning of Education” is held at the Fox Valley Technical College at 1825 N Bluemond Dr. Appleton Our “Eat & Educate” event is held on a week day night at a restaurant in the Appleton area They are free to members and a $5.00 fee for non-members Be a part of the fun planning and providing help as we host the WSMA conference Find out more on Facebook: Valley Chapter of Medical Assistants.



January 11, 2020, Saturday, 7:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Fox Valley Tech Room HS114A/B use entrance #16

​Child Sexual Abuse – What You Need to Know 1 A/G CEU

​Medical Assistant’s Guide to Aging & Disability Resources 1 A/G CEU       


April 16-18, 2020 Thursday – Saturday, WSMA 65th Annual Conference at Bridgewood Resort Neenah WI


May 12, 2020, Tuesday, 6:00-8:00 p.m. Fox Valley Tech Room HS114/A use entrance #16




SCHULTZ SCHOLARSHIP The Valley Chapter of Medical Assistants offers a $500.00 scholarship to a student who is enrolled in an accredited medical assisting program located in the Valley Chapter area. The Schultz Scholarship recipient will be notified by mail with information regarding the award presentation. Any questions regarding the Schultz Scholarship or the application process contact Judy Newland, CMA (AAMA) at judithann@centurytel.net


Click here for application form and instructions.

Valley Chapter

LEADERSHIP 2019-2020



Judy Newland, CMA (AAMA)


Danielle Bodoh, CMA (AAMA)


Immediate Past President

Kim Cooper, CMA (AAMA)



Kami Sahli, CMA (AAMA)

& Michelle VanHandel, CMA (AAMA)


Procedure Manual:

Denise Dorsey-LaCanne, CMA (AAMA)


Rules of Governance:

Joanne Steffens, CMA (AAMA)


Chapter Representative:

Amy Otte, CMA (AAMA)

Vice President:

Kim Gropp, CMA (AAMA) B.A.



Nancy Kohls, CMA (AAMA)


Denise Dorsey-LaCanne, CMA (AAMA)

Audit: Karen DeBruin, CMA-A (AAMA)

Budget: Karen DeBruin, CMA-A (AAMA)



Judy Newland, CMA (AAMA)

Public Relations:

Michelle VanHandel, CMA (AAMA)


Schultz Scholarship:

Judy Newland, CMA (AAMA)

Ways & Means: Kim Cooper, CMA (AAMA


Student Ambassadors:

Veronica Hebert, CMA (AAMA) for NWTC and Kathleen Kallio, CMA (AAMA) for FVTC